Adding Raytracing rendering to 3D emulators

Hi everybody.

This is my first post, however I’ve been using emulators for almost 30 years now.

I was just thinking about how much computing power is needed for raytracing and though, why not trying with some simple graphics like those on older 3D systems like Playstation 1 or N64?

Do you think a raytracing plugin is something doable for PSX, Saturn, N64, etc?

It seems to me like the kind of enhancements / features libretro likes to include :slight_smile:

Cheers!

It should be possible, but it would require writing a renderer for it from scratch, I think. I’m not very familiar with how raytracing libraries/SDKs work, though.

What benefits would it bring to the emulation ?

To emulatíon itself none. It won’t be more faithful to the real thing.

It would be just an interesting enhancement like filters or shaders, higher resolutions, etc

To be honest i would prefer the possibility to mod meshes and textures by redirecting the priority for the assets to custom ones, raytracing is something so fundamentally different to what early 3D games do that i find really hard to understand how to implement it.

• n64: i think so
  • psx: probably not
  • saturn: no