Need help with creating a cheat code.

Hey all, Im totally new to RetroArch and how it works i tried looking for the solution and could not find it myself so sorry if their actually is a thread for this already which shows what to do.

little backstory: so im using retroarch on windows 10 64 bit version with a windows keyboard, and im having trouble with creating a cheat code for the Pokemon diamond game with the core Nintendo- DS (DeSmuME 2015).
So when i create a cheat code there is 2 options with the handler either Emulator or Retro Arch when i use the Emulator handler i cant edit/click the code to input my action replay/ game shark ( whatever is needed) code for it. And for the RetroArch handler i have no idea what to change ( like the value, memory address, type etc.) I have also tried manually going in files adding my own codes in a notepad form alongside the other Pokemon diamond cheat codes but doesn’t show up in game with all the other cheats. How/What am i supposed to do in order to create my own cheat code? Help would be appreciated

Not sure how good the PC Build is with creating Codes, but Codes created with RA Cheat Engine will be restricted with Addresses only having xxx#####. I tried Searching for Codes with the PSX Core, but could not do anything. So should only go for the Arcade, and older Game System Cores.

Basically, try to Start a Cheat Search. It will say “Successfully started cheat search”. Press Up until you see the “Add Numbered Amount Matches to Your List” . If it says 0, then the Cheat Search will NOT work for the current Core you are using. Load up a compatible Cheat File (.cht) to use. Pretty sure it will only accept GameShark or Action Replay type Code Formats. I have a pretty good Collection of Cheats I am loading up, so Users can find them easier. I forgot where I got the RA Cheat Collection .zip , which shows you how difficult it is to find.