Real CD/DVD read support

Github issue: https://github.com/libretro/RetroArch/issues/7245

Bountysource link: https://www.bountysource.com/issues/63527883-bounty-real-cd-dvd-read-support

1 Like

I don’t think that posting your question here is the best way to attract feedback, unfortunately. I’m not a RetroArch developer but for what it’s worth as a coder who occasionally contributes to libretro I would say that:

1. CD/DVD hardware access comes up from time to time as a request
  2. To my knowledge the RA developers have never said they were against the request – that’s a good sign!
  3. I’d recommend separating burning/writing into its own request from read access.

Are you still interested in pursuing this bounty? If so post again and maybe I can help bring a little more attention to your bounty idea.

Thank you. I am still interested and I don’t mind splitting it up into two separate bounties. Where would you suggest that I post instead?

I’m trying to see if I can find a gaming focused OS for an older mini PC that can play DVD movies and CD music. I’m guessing based on your post, focused on software and data optical disks though it is, that Lakka can’t do this? Since Lakka comes from LibreELEC…

I definitely think this might have to happen - it could take some of the wind out of the sails of all these kickstarted retro emulation boxes that have as their sole USP some CD/DVD drive to run original content with. That stuff should really be made open and something like RetroArch should just work out of the box with it without having to pay anybody to buy some proprietary, locked-down box.

So sure, if you guys want to get some bounties started so we can democratize and liberalize this stuff, by all means, I’m all for it.