Retroarch build issues & release fragmentation woes!

Hey guys! I’m new to retroarch. It’s sheer size used to throw me off on Windows, but now that I’m mostly on Debian, I find it fits the bill :wink:

I have come across several issues that spurred several headaches and It would be appreciated to get some feedback!

Release fragmentation woes!

This one is quite simple, I see ArchLinux has v1.7.1 in it’s repos, Debian has v1.3.6 and Ubuntu, v1.4.1. What is keeping the Debian & Ubuntu guys from getting the latest updates? Is there somekind of package conflict between versions and distros? If this is purely due to retroarch being low in priority for Debian, I’ll gladly open a ticket with the devs to try and push 1.7.1 but I need some insight before I go all #retroactivist on them :smile:

RetroArch build issues!

Maybe someone could shed some light on this… Initially I installed RetroArch 1.3.6 from the Debian repositories and it had quite a few suspicious quirks. For example, “Load Core” would give me the possibility to download Cores (It would show downloading 100% then nothing would happen), but as soon as I installed some Cores from the Debian Repository that option went away, and I was stuck with the very limited set of Cores available in the repository.

RetroArch 1.3.6 had some strange behavioral differences also when running as root or user (Using root to try to find a solution to the Core problem). After several attemps, I failed to do anything constructive and so let’s skip ahead. (Games ran fine btw with the old cores from the repo.)

I tried to find an up to date version that I could easily install on Debian. Empty handed, I had no other choice but to build it myself. Now here is where it gets interesting…