Guide To Building MAME 2003 PLUS Romset?

Is there an indepth guide as whats needed to get the correct romset for MAME 2003 PLUS, or if someone could PM me a link to a set

1 Like

I believe it comes with a DAT/XML that you can use with CLRMAMEPro to build the set

So if i have the latest MAME romset (0.203) and the XML file i can build a complete 2003 PLUS set?, thats all i need those 2 things?

You will also need a MAME rollback set.

There are docs on rebuilding romsets for mame 2003-plus here: https://docs.libretro.com/library/mame2003_plus/#building-romsets-for-mame-2003-plus

Those docs are slightly out of date in that HBMAME romsets are no longer needed, just a recent MAME set and the rollback set. I’ll update the docs.

2 Likes

Thanks. So i need the MAME 0.203 Rollback set, or is it another one i need?, sorry im just new to building romsets

1 Like

No worries, it’s a complex task and it took me quite a while to learn what I know.

If my updates to the docs are approved, the new text will read this way:

In order to build a complete MAME 2003-Plus romset collection, the ingredients are:

• A complete MAME 0.193 or later romset collection
  • A complete MAME 0.193 or later “rollback” romset collection
  • MAME 0.78 CHD collection
  • The NeoGeo UniBIOS 3.3, freely available at http://unibios.free.fr/
1 Like

Ok one last thing lol, does the rollback romset have to be the same version as the latest mame romset you’ll be using or can they be 2 completely different versions?

The rollback should be from the same version as your MAME romset collection, or a later version. Just as long as its not from an earlier version.

and im guessing i cant use a ‘Merged’ romset?

Nope. “Full Non-Merged”, “Non-Merged,” and “Split” sets are supported.

I have listed those in order of my personal preference, although opinions as to which is best differ.

1 Like