Mouse support added to Android input driver - feedback appreciated

External mouse support and touch screen mouse emulation was added today to the Android version. I’ve done a lot of testing myself of the functionality, but I’m still a little worried that something might have been broken by the implementation (eg. issues with overlays) so feel free to provide feedback here if you want to test it.

You can read how it works here:

Please note that the current version of ScummVM available on the updater has problems on Android Nougat. I’ve compiled a version that works on Nougat while working on a pull request that fixes it. You can download that version of ScummVM (for armeabi-v7a) by pointing the core updater to this url: http://lindqvist.synology.me/shield/

1 Like

@diablodiab1

This has come just at the right time for me. Sorry to be dumb but I have never used mouse support in retroarch before.

What’s the process for enabling it. Is it all done after content is loaded? I found mouse support in Settings-> input. The tool tip says it’s for menu navigation. When switched on with a wireless BT mouse connected to my Shield TV I have no control of the menu. I do have the standard shield/mouse cursor though.

I don’t have scummvm setup. But will test other cores.

if you get a chance a couple of examples of the uses of the upgraded support would be awesome to help me understand what cores & games it will be useable with.

As a user I appreciate you helping to improve RetroArch

I will need to do some testing myself in other cores, as I have only focused on ScummVM until now. For ScummVM you don’t need to do anything. If you install the core and start it you will get to the built in ScummVM menu. In there you can test if you can move the mouse cursor using the touch screen or using an external mouse you have connected to your device.