About retropad.cfg and core modules on Android

Hi all and thank you for your great work!

I’m pretty new to the RA scene, so apologies if these questions have already been answered elsewhere.

I’m using RA on a unrooted Nexus 6P and it works great but I was just wondering if it is at all possible to remove installed core modules that are no longer needed? As an example, I installed 3 PSX modules and found that PCSXRearmed is the one I will use in the future but I could not find a way to remove the other 2? Not a massive problem, but I kinda like it to be neat :slight_smile: The only way I found so far is a bit drastic (uninstall and reinstall RA) :sweat_smile:

Also, I very much like the retropad overlay but I’m not sure I understand what the button between “Start” and “Select” do? (the one that looks like a keyboard). If I press it accidentally, it goes into a fullscreen/immersive mode that I can’t get out of! Is it supposed to bring up a keyboard or maybe is a quick “toggle overlay” button for when RA is used on an android stick connected to a TV or something? So my question is: is it possible to make the overlay come back after pressing that button without having to restart the app? Alternatively I was looking into modifying retropad.cfg and remove that specific button, but I can see the file is stored in an inaccesible part of the system unless you are rooted. Is it possible to modify it within the app itself?

Thank you very, very much!

Regards, -R

Welcome!

On a non-rooted Android device you can clear cores/history/etc. by just deleting the app data (this doesn’t affect your save files) instead of uninstalling the whole app. Therefore it makes sense to always keep a backup of your RetroArch config. It is stored under /sdcard/Android/data/com.retroarch. Your save files are stored in /sdcard/RetroArch.

2 Likes