Can't find working deinterlacing shader for Amiga

Hi all, I’ve been playing some Amiga 500 games, specifically Soccer Kid, and the output is interlaced. I’d like to deinterlace it. I’m pretty new to RetroArch so if I’m missing something basic, please let me know.

I’ve found some cg shaders in the common-shaders directory, eg bob-and-ghost-deinterlace.cg. It’s located in common-shaders/misc/bob-and-ghost-deinterlace.cg. At first I was confused, because under “Load” only .cgp files showed up, but after playing around a bit, I’ve found that I can change “Shader Passes” to 1, and then in there, I can load bob-and-ghost-deinterlace.cg or bob-deinterlace.cg. However, they have no effect at all. So what do I do for deinterlacing?

Also some .cgp files work while others don’t do anything. For example, if I load up shaders_cg/eagle/super-eagle.cgp, then the shader passes load up (Shader #0 is super-eagle.cg and Shader #1 is stock.cg). However, loading super-eagle.cgp actually doesn’t do anything - the image is exactly the same as it was before. Meanwhile, loading up shaders_cg/mudlord/oldtv.cgp creates an old tv effect with cresting, distortion, noise, etc. However I haven’t been able to find a shader preset anywhere that deinterlaces things.

Why doesn’t the super-eagle.cgp shader preset work?

An additional issue I have is that I’m running this on a Steam Deck. RetroArch is installed using a FlatPak, and that means all the shaders are in a place that I can’t (and shouldn’t) write files to. How do I create a .cgp this way? What should I do? Do I absolutely need .cgp files, or can I just load a .cg file, click “Apply Changes”, and it should work?

Thanks

Just a general note: we recommend migrating to GLSL shaders with the default “gl” video driver or, preferably, switching to glcore so you can use the more modern/flexible/powerful “slang” shaders.