Can't launch RetroArch on Shield TV?

I’m new to RetroArch so apologies if I’m missing something obvious… I’ve tried the stable 1.2.2 version & the nightly 11/08 build but both quit straight back to my Shield home screen is there a simple fix for this?

Thank you.

[QUOTE=Miseryguts;30522]I’m new to RetroArch so apologies if I’m missing something obvious… I’ve tried the stable 1.2.2 version & the nightly 11/08 build but both quit straight back to my Shield home screen is there a simple fix for this?

Thank you.[/QUOTE]

I downloaded mine from playstore within the shield and it works fine, O.o

[QUOTE=Miseryguts;30522]I’m new to RetroArch so apologies if I’m missing something obvious… I’ve tried the stable 1.2.2 version & the nightly 11/08 build but both quit straight back to my Shield home screen is there a simple fix for this?

Thank you.[/QUOTE]

I am having a similar issue. I’m trying to run RetroArch on my Nexus Player (Android 6.0), and when I click “Load RetroArch” it doesn’t kick me back home, but it loads a black menu that I am unable to interact with in any way. It appears to crash, although the clock in the corner continues progressing. If I try to load it again, I get the same screen but with an overlay of virtual gamepad controls. I am unable to click/select anything and I cannot navigate the menu at all.

I don’t see the spiffy red menu that i see in screenshots, just a plain black menu with white text in the system font.

I found RetroArch on my Nexus Player’s Play Store, but the next day when I decided to install it, I could no longer find it. So i installed it from the Play Store website, telling it to install to my Nexus Player. I have since uninstalled that and tried downloading it directly from libretro.com. But both packages give me the same result.

If you’re getting white text on black background, it means it can’t find your menu assets, so go to the online updater and update your assets.