Confusion with creating input autoconfig profiles

So this is my first time using the autoconfig feature and I’m having a hard time understading what is going on with autoconfig profiles. I bought the new 8bitdo m30 controller and realized that no autoconfig profile for it exists. Unless I’m blind, I don’t think I see any option for creating a new profile so I went to the autoprofile directory and made a new profile mysql, supplying the correct vendor and product IDs. When I boot up retroarch again, it shows that it loads the profile correctly. I use a keyboard to navigate to Input > Input User 1 Binds and start binding the buttons. When I select “User 1 Save Autoconfig” though, instead of overwriting my blank m30 config (Device Index shows the m30 display name I put in my custom config btw), it creates a new file called “XInput Controller (User 1).cfg”.The m30 is the only controller I have plugged.

I tested this with a different controller, a dualshock 4 and when I choose the “User 1 Save Autoconfig” option without changing anything, it creates a new, different file instead named “Wireless Controller.cfg”. I tried an Xbox One controller and it too creates a new file called “XBOX One Controller (User 1).cfg”

Is this a bug or something I’m missing? This is on 1.7.5 by the way

8Bitdo pads will report different vid:pid pairs based on the pairing mode, I think. So, try pairing it as different stuff until it says the name of the actual pad when connected.

Choosing Save Autoconfig is how to create a new autoconfig file. The process is described more fully on this page: https://www.retroarch.com/index.php?page=joypad-autoconfig

Hmm, so using the retroarch UI doesn’t allow you to make changes to existing profiles? I can probably get around things by renaming files to what I want manually but I was wondering if all of this was possible through retroarch.