Connecting Computer to a CRT

So I bought a Tv that only has an antenna coaxial connection. I’m getting a Radeon 5450 for the VGA output, then a VGA to composite adapter, then a composite to coaxial adapter. Guess I’ll see if that works. I’ve read things about needing a transcoder? There doesn’t seem to be a lot of good information on how to do this. A lot of what I read has discontinued transcoders.

Does anyone have a recommendation of parts that I need that are actually available?

It can work but it may not be pretty. I myself abandoned that idea and use a Raspberry Pi 3B+ with RGB-Pi now.

Sure this can work, since the end result is going to be a (shoddy) 480i picture, you might as well look for an old GPU that has a composite out.

Could you explain what you got to set that up? I have no experience with raspberry pi lol.

Hardware

Software

The OS must be flashed to the SD, then booted up. Use their documentation to set them up.

More info: https://www.retrorgb.com/rpi240p.html

It’s definitely more than just plug&play until you get a manageable system up and running. A bit of Linux knowledge does help, too.

1 Like

Thank you! I’ll look into this.

So I would also have to buy an adapter for the SCART cable? I can’t plug that into my TV.

Oh! Let’s clear this one up. You also wrote:

This doesn’t sound too good - and I admit that I had overread it.

If your TV really only has a Coaxial Antenna port and not even an RCA (yellow cinch), SCART or S-Video port, then you are out of luck. Even an old graphics card with TV out is not capable of giving you an antenna signal.

Some of my cables came in today. I was able to get a signal. It didn’t look too bad. And no motion blur! My ATI card comes on Tuesday and I’ll mess with it some more. If I get it working well I’ll definitely share my setup here.

1 Like