Control Woes...Xarcade

Hi there,

I’m extremely new to all of this so I’ll try to be as brief and straightforward as possible.

I have Rocket Launcher, and HyperSpin as my frontend on a pc setup in an Xtension arcade machine, running a number of emulators. I’ve recently been trying to use RetroArch because it seems to run things so well.

When I try to config the core in RetroArch, that has launched whatever game from HyperSpin, the configuration for my controllers doesn’t seem to work properly. When I bind the inputs for the player 1 joystick on my Xarcade Tank Stick, it inputs fine into RetroArch, but for some reason when I try to move the characters around in game, it doesn’t recognize it. On top of that, some of the buttons will not recognize when I setup a 6 button joy for say Sega Genesis or SNES.

Should I just walk away from RetroArch for now as an Xarcade users and just go back to the emulators of yesteryear haha

I’ve heard Tanksticks are a pain in the arse with this emulator.

Cheers, Dennis

There is a bit of hassle in that tanksticks (and a lot of other keyboard-based joysticks) present themselves as keyboards with the buttons mapped to MAME’s default hotkey layout. This causes a lot of conflicts with RetroArch’s default hotkey assignments.

I use a JPAC in my cabinet, which also uses MAME defaults, but I changed a bunch of RA hotkeys to “nul” in the cfg and only mapped the few I needed manually. Some of these didn’t map properly in the GUI (like maybe the open/close brackets??? I forget), so I just mapped them manually in the cfg.

[QUOTE=hunterk;41728]There is a bit of hassle in that tanksticks (and a lot of other keyboard-based joysticks) present themselves as keyboards with the buttons mapped to MAME’s default hotkey layout. This causes a lot of conflicts with RetroArch’s default hotkey assignments.