Core into APK?

Is it possible to compile a Core into a standalone APK?

Sorry if I’m asking something really stupid - but I’m new to the whole “Android emulation” thing.

I ask, because I couldn’t find a decent Odyssey2 emulator (The only one available VPacAPP, is very slow and crashes a lot on my Android mini-pc), but I could find this core for RetroArch:

https://github.com/libretro/libretro-o2em

I managed to compile it (I have the Android NDK installed), but all it creates is a bunch of “libretro.so” - so now I’m lost :frowning:

I’m asking about a standalone APK, because I’m making my own front-end for emulators (already have it working for SNES/NES/GBA/Mega Drive and Atari…), and would love to include an Odyssey2 emulator in the mix (as it was my first video-game ever!)

Any help appreciated, thanks!

Cores are just that… cores. They are useless without a frontend Why not grab the latest nightly at buildbot.libretro.com, go into core manager and download the core you want

Because Retroarch is way too slow in general for my Android device. Also, I couldn’t get the latest build to run. I’m stuck at a “press OK/Accept” screen after loading a core/content - and nothing I do work.

Plus, I just need an Odyssey2 emulator…

With the current one you only download the cores you want. You just need to set a gamepad overlay to press A to accept

I think the build from 18-01-2015 is broken - I downloaded the one from 13-01-2015 and I got to the odyssey boot. But couldn’t start (or even exit) the emulator.

I just tried the current nightly with the dosbox core and it works perfect so no idea of your issue

Something seems seriously broken. I installed the fmsx core and the o2em core.

Started O2Em… locked at the “Select game” screen. (Yes, I pointed RetroArch to the BIOS). Then, I uninstalled O2Em core, selected fMSX core, selected a MSX game, started RetroArch… and still locked up at the select game screen from O2Em!