Desktop Resolution Issue - 15 FPS performance

I am new to retroarch on the PC. It’s a very powerful front end. But there is a tough learning curve!

So, sorry if this is a stupid question. But I am using retroarch on a PC connected to a 4K monitor with a 4K desktop screen resolution.

Games run 2 to 4 times slower than normal by default (15 FPS with shader and overlay or 30 FPS with shader only). After a lot of messing around with sync options. I think the problem is actually simple and not a sync issue at all… the desktop resolution is too high. If I manually change the desktop resolution to 1080p then run Retroarch I get games running at 60 FPS and so they play at normal speed with shader and overlay .

Is there a way of getting retroarch to switch my desktop resolution to 1080p when it starts up? Based on a google search I changed the parameters…

video_fullscreen_x = “1920” video_fullscreen_y = “1080”

However the game still ran at a terrible speed. So I don’t think Retroarch changed the desktop resolution at all when it started up.

p.s. I also have the common problem that I can’t get the genesis_plus_gx core to work and no other sega core is listed when I go to download. My genesis roms files are .smd. My master system files are .sms. When I run a genesis rom I get a black permanent screen. When I run a master system rom the window closes straight away. All the other system cores I have tried run A OK . Any ideas on that one?

Given the listed symptoms, here are a few questions:

What’s your video hardware? Which video driver are you using? (GL, Vulkan, DXD9, DXD12…) What type of shaders are you using? (Cg, GLSL, Slang?)

Sorry but I have no idea what video drivers retroach uses. I haven’t manually changed any video driver settings. On installation I think Retroarch tried to install dx9. But it failed as I already had a newer version of direct x and stated the install was not required.

The shader I am using is crt-easymode-halation.glslp