Dpad Controls / Xarcade Stick Not Working... A, B Works Normal

Hi all. I’m fairly new to the world of RetroArch (outside of a bit of customization on a RetroPie) and I’m working on an arcade project run by Windows 7 and Launchbox. I’m trying to configure RetroArch (NES firstly) to work with an Xarcade stick, and while I’m able to map the A, B buttons just fine, the DPad maps, but does NOTHING in game. I’ve tried different cores, all the same happening. I’ve read other forums that say to map in game, which I’ve done - still nothing. Oddly enough, the same key on a connected keyboard peripheral actually DOES work - but not on the stick! Can anyone help me find out what I’m doing wrong here?

The Xarcade stick uses direction arrows, right? if so, you can look in your retroarch.cfg and see if they’re getting mapped properly or not (sometimes they get mapped wrong as tenkey numbers for some reason). They should just say left/right/up/down.

And you should be doing the mapping in settings > input > p1 input binds > bind all, though I’m not sure if it will let you map both players this way on a single keyboard device. You might have to enter the values into the retroarch.cfg manually, which really is probably a good idea anyway, since some of the MAME defaults that Xarcade uses conflict with RA’s own hotkey assignments.

2 Likes

Best way to use an x-arcade with RA is to make a new binding on the x-arcade hardware that corresponds to the Retroarch default keys, or slightly modified version thereof.

Even better way is to gut that crap PCB and swap for something decent.

If you want a good and permanent solution i would also agree that you have to replace the crappy encoder in the XArcade. It is not that hard and i did it on my XArcade Tankstick: