Generic usb controller not recognized by retroarch

Ok, please bear with me as I’m new to the emulator world.
I’m trying to turn an old netbook, now running ubuntu, into a game emulator. I have EmulationStation running great. All my ROM’s are recognized and my controller works with ES. My problem is that when I start a SNES ROM, and retroarch takes over, my controller is no longer recognized. I’ve ran jstest and confirmed my buttons. I then tried, several times and in several different ways, to input those buttons into the retroarch.cfg under input_player1. Nothing I do seems to work and I must admit that I’m getting a bit flustered at the whole process. My controller is an old Logitech vv630, BTW.

Any help and/or guidance would be much appreciated.

Thanks

Where did you get your build of RetroArch? Old versions like the one in my now-deprecated PPA map differently from new versions, so if you’re using an old one, you should either build from latest git or switch to the libretro/testing PPA and update.

Once you’re updated, go into the settings > input settings and make sure autoconfig is set to ON and then select ‘bind all’ and follow the prompts.

Ok, Again please bear with the n00b, but the way that I did it before was

sudo add-apt-repository ppa:libretro/stable

Is this the wrong place?

Also, when I try:

sudo add-apt-repository ppa:libretro/testing and sudo apt-get install retroarch libretro*

I get: Error were encountered while processing: /var/cache/apt/archives/libretro-bsnes_0.093~filtypants6_i386.deb E: Sub-process /usr/bin/dpkg returned an error code (1)

Also, also, I’m not sure where settings>input settings is. I’m running retroarch through EmulationStation. When I start the actual ROM, I can hit F1, but that menu just shows ( Settings … ) In fact all of the options in the menu except for ‘Save State’, ‘Load State’, and ‘Configurations’ just show ‘…’ and don’t seem to be changeable.