Graphical errors with BSNES in retroarch

I’m new at using retroarch, so this may be a case of changing a simple setting (not much has been changed from the defaults), but I’ve played around with it a while on my own and not had any luck. I tried multiple aspect ratios, and it didn’t help.

I loaded up Alien vs Predator just to test some games out, and about 10 seconds into the first level the screen gets distorted/stretched out. I tried BSNES mercury core (accuracy), and I also tried regular BSNES (accuracy). They both had the glitch. I then tried SNES9x, which seemed to work fine. I then also tried a standalone version of BSNES, and it also worked fine.

It just seems odd to me that this is supposed to be one of the most compatible emulators out there, and I run into problems while still playing around with the 'A’s in my romset. But again it doesn’t seem to be an issue with a standalone version of BSNES.

Can anyone replicate this, or give me an idea of what I need to do to fix it? Not too enthusiastic about testing more games at the moment…

I played for a couple of minutes using BSNES_Mercury_Balanced without experiencing the issue.

Maybe it is a bad ROM? Make sure you use a rom with the [!] at the end of it’s file name.

Edit: nevermind, you said it’s fine with SNES9X. Have you tried updating the cores? Maybe it’s a bug in the accuracy versions? Try the balanced one. No reason to use the Accuracy version except for one game (Air Strike Patrol)

no-intro roms does not have those [!].

It’s working fine here too, tested with snes9x and bsnes-mercury balanced.

Edit: well, I tested on Linux.

I tried it with the ‘balanced’ version, and it seems to be working great! That’s funny that I found bugs in the ‘Accuracy’ version within 5 minutes of testing.

Oh well… hopefully balanced is near perfect, and I guess I’ll just use the ‘Accuracy’ version for that one game.