Help needed to Reicast core no longer accessible

Hi all. Newbie here to retroarch, but very quick learner. My issue is in retro arch 1.7.5 all my Naomi games were working fine no issues, however whilst trying to remap certain controller settings I managed to mess up retroarch, which gave me input issues within retroarch itself. In my wisdom I deleted retroarch completely and installed 1.7.7 only to find there’s no reicast core only flycast which I believed after some digging is the replacement. However none of my naomi games work anymore. I tried changing the .ini file to use flycast instead but still no dice. Is it possible to reinstall the reicast core into retroarch to get my games running again. And if so how? Do I need root access? I’m using nvidia shield

Thanks in advance

Flycast in the new name of the reicast core but nothing else has changed.

Can you provide more information about the problem you’re having? Error message, log, etc…

So found out flycast uses the following file extensions:

• .cdi
  • .gdi
  • .chd
  • .cue
  • .zip
  • .m3u So does this render my existing Naomi ROMs useless? As they use .ist. .bin .dat format Also Mame doesn’t want to play these either? Thanks in advance

Thanks for the reply, does this mean my atomiswave.ini and Naomi.ini need to point to flycast_libretro_android.so instead of reicast core? All my Naomi ROMs I have use .ist .bin .dat .eeprom extensions.

I’ve read them Mame now is the way forward but I’ve tried and they still won’t run, I’m guessing as Mame uses .zip format?

This format has been deprecated since last year, afaik it still works (you don’t need lst file though) but it is recommended to use MAME roms instead, they generally work better.

Thanks, is there any way to convert my existing ROMs to new format or is it just a matter of find new ROMs?

No, roms with .bin and .dat extensions are already conversions and there’s no way back.

I just downloaded ikaruga Naomi rom which is a .zip format