How do I exit a game? Why doesn't the back button work?

I’ve been playing with classic game emulators for many years, so I’m not really a noob to emulation, but only last week decided to finally take the plunge and start playing with them on Android.

I’ve purchased a MOGA Hero Power bluetooth game controller, and installed RetroArch and the Gamesome front end. I’ve managed to get RetroArch to load and play games through Gamesome, and with the controller in HID mode it’s recognized, and the default controller mappings work fine for me. So all that is working great and I can play games.

I have two problems though:

(1) I can’t figure out how to exit a game! Yes, if I leave the default “retropad” overlay enabled, I can bring that up, hit menu, and from there eventually navigate my way to “Quit RetroArch”, which gets me back to Gamesome, but there’s got to be an easier way to exit a game than this? Also, if I disable the overlay (which I’d like to do, since I’m using a physical gamepad), then there’s NO way that I can find to exit. (Other than pulling up Android’s recent apps list and killing Retroarch, then manually switching focus back to Gamesome. Again, there’s GOT to be an easier way than that?)