How to become a dev

How would I go about becoming a developer? I don’t want to work on cores or anything like that, purely the UI. After only a week of consistently using retroarch, the UI is already starting to give me a headache over how obtuse it is, and nobody seems interested in fixing it. So, how would I go about fixing it myself?

Fork the repo on github, make your changes, submit a pull request. It’s written in ANSI C.

Ok. It might take me a bit to learn some things, since I’m relatively new to coding, but I’ll hopefully have learned enough by the end of the month to clean up at least one or two things.

1 Like

Just out of curiosity, what would you want to refine? It’s come a long way in the last few years. I’ve been extremely impressed with what everyone has been doing with the UI.

The only thing that I’ve wished I could change is the control mapping. Specifically in that A.) it’s (understandably-so) still based on Nintendo’s backwards-ass button placements lol and, more importantly, B.) It’s 2-inputs short of a TRUE full controller map.

ie.

• D-Pad
  • Start+Select
  • ABC-XYZ
  • L1/2/3-R1/2/3
  • Left+Right Sticks

Those missing Z & C buttons in the mapping interface are a much bigger deal than everyone realizes. It’s extremely hard to explain without literally showing someone the problem - but once you get it, it’s BIG. I don’t expect anyone to fix it, and I get why it’s this way, but I can’t ‘not’ bring this up whenever possible - not just in relation to RetroArch but for gaming in general.

Playlists. Why should I have to load into an ENTIRELY DIFFERENT UI to do anything with playlists. Here is my roadmap for what I want to accomplish here:

1: Clean up the basic display

I want to have 3 different options for the UI itself: Classic, default, and compact.

Classic: Classic is how it looks right now. That way the people who like it as is can keep it as is.