How to play disc games in Dosbox-pure?

It’s my first time ever with Dos games on Retroarch, so I’m a total noob at this. I learned that Dosbox-pure is the best option as it supports zip files and save states among other things, so I downloaded that core.

Now I have this game called “Batman Forever” with cue/bin files inside a zip. The game fails to run though. Do I need to install it or something? And how?

There’s nothing else besides the cue/iso?

Then that’s just the disc. So you will have to install it, normally. There are, however, pre-installed zip archives you can use, such as the eXoDOS project. These have a higher chance of working directly from the zip file, without installation. Some will still not load but it’s usually easy to fix them.

I honestly have no idea. This is my first time trying a DOS game in Retroarch. Was there supposed to be something else besides the cue/iso?

Is there a way I can make and use a pre-installed zip with Dosbox-pure?

Update: I have just found one on Wowroms which has this structure:

This version seems to run fine in Dosbox Game Launcher but again not in Retroarch (Dosbox-pure). In Retroarch it always opens up SVTEST32.exe for some reason.

Keep the whole folder zipped and open the zip file with DosBOX Pure. It should open a menu with some options to run, select batman.exe from that menu.

Coincidentally, yesterday I was testing this game on Arcade Kronos ST-V.

It is correct, the CUE+BIN is compressed and the zip is loaded directly. CD games require installation, games and achievements are saved on the Hard Disk. I recently made an Installation video, it is not the same case but it serves as a reference.

Contrary to what Exodos enthusiasts say, it is not recommended to use pre-compiled packages. They give more problems than solutions.

Two things before starting.

• The game supports GUS “Gravis Ultrasound” and has the files embedded, fully recommended, just activate in the core menu and reboot.