I would like to understand the difference between FBNeo and MAME!

I started studying more about arcade emulators recently, and I still don’t really understand the versions of MAME and Final Burn (alpha, Neo, 2006, 2003, 2010 etc.) work.

Currently I use it in all arcade roms in my retroarch with FBNeo, and from my tests almost all of them (I say almost because I haven’t tested 15 thousand roms) work without problems in FBNeo, in MAME it is very complicated, among 10 games that I only play 3 or 4 work.

So my doubt is: Final Burn would be the best emulator for arcades and as MAME actually works with roms, we already have a lot of problems with incompatibilities. Or does one emulator have nothing to do with the other?

If your romset works with FBNeo and not with MAME, it is possible that you have the FBNeo romset. Each system has its own romset and although they can be compatible, or even start and be playable, most likely they will give you errors. It is recommended that you have the romset of the Core you are going to use.

MAME has worked well in RetroArch, although the integration was not very good, now they are making important improvements and optimizations.

FBNeo is a descendant of MAME and it was made with the user in mind, it is focused on gameplay, it is faster and it is perfectly integrated in RetroArch. It also includes most of the HBMAME games.

If in doubt, this is the best place to start. https://docs.libretro.com/guides/arcade-getting-started/

1 Like

I’ve seen and read about this subject, but I didn’t think it made sense that some roms work well on one and not on another. And looking carefully, the same rom that works on FBNeo on Mame may or may not work, that’s what I don’t understand, these versions and everything from one emulator to another, since in my opinion they are the same!

So, keep using them, maybe someday they will work!!

1 Like