I'm buying an iPhone 6

I’m buying an iPhone 6… just because I love RetroArch so much.

Though I hear there’s issues with screen resolution (unsure if that’s 6 as a whole, or only the plus.)

Is there anything I should worry about? Should I wait?

Should I NOT get an iPhone 6 and pick something else?

The M9 with it’s Octacore looks cool, but seems quite gimmicky. Does RetroArch even utilise multiple cores?

I’m not a developer so I can’t tell you the technical details, but I have an iPhone 6 and from personal experience RetroArch seems to run without any major issues. There are some reports that video resolution gets messed up on iPhone 6 Plus. I use ForceGoodFit from Cydia to maximise the Cocoa UI but I’m not sure if it has any impact on the actual video rendering when loading a ROM. ROMs run fine, I can play with an external controller via BTStack, ControllersForAll, or the iCade framework. BTStack connections to Dual Shock 3 controllers sometimes glitch out but this may be an issue with the software rather than the iPhone 6 hardware itself.

It’s recommended that you run RetroArch on TaiG jailbroken iOS 8.1.2 as the Pangu jailbreak for iOS 8.0-8.1 is incompatible with the PSX cores.

I don’t know about RetroArch running on high-end consumer Android devices, but I did test it on an octa-core (MTK 6592) test Android phone and it ran without a hitch for most 2D games. I think N64 had issues but this may be a CPU incompatibility.

As for multiple cores, RetroArch runs significantly smoother on the dual-core A5 CPU than the single-core A4. I don’t know if it’s due to added support or if the CPU is simply running it faster.