iOS 11 Support (updated with zipfile containing cores)

It’s that time of year again - as you may have heard, 32-bit apps will no longer work on iOS 11.

This is a problem because while RetroArch can be compiled in 64-bit, the cores will also need to be compiled in 64-bit - and last I checked a lot of the cores don’t compile in 64-bit for iOS.

I’m going to start looking at this again, as I do want to continue supporting RetroArch in iOS, but if anyone knows the status of the cores, or knows the status of supporting 64-bit iOS, then please let me know here :slight_smile:

I chatted briefly with TwinAphex about this on irc awhile back and i think he’s aware of it and work has been underway.

I know iOS programming but the cores are a whole other beast which I have no knowledge of, and I can just poke around until I get them to compile.

Anyways, I’ll update the status of progress here.

1 Like

#iOS 11 Support means native 64-bit support.

Updated: 10/3/17

Cores compiled using iOS 11 SDK / arm64 architecture

The libretro-super github repo has a script, libretro-build-ios-arm64.sh, to build arm64 cores for iOS.

Zip containing compiled cores for arm64: https://mega.nz/#!fEB11KwD!c_00wTqNW4TNN6r9PyteW4MvM46isdMwzXJTxDL7-kw

Most systems are supported, but currently the major core not supported right now is Nintendo 64 - mupen64plus was working before but until it can be compiled in 64-bit.

If you are familiar with Xcode, build instructions are here: https://buildbot.libretro.com/docs/compilation/ios/

3 Likes

An update on iOS 11 support (7/16/17)

I spent some time on the retroarch discord today, and @anon24419061, @anon90536803 and @hunterk gave a lot of great guidance in nailing down what was causing some issues.