Is there any reason to leave the runahead feature in the code?

For the sake of simplicity and decluttering, I am wondering if preemptive frames is always a superior choice to its predecessor runahead.

If so, I feel like there should be only one feature in retroarch - for the sake of having one less GUI menu in that gazillion of entries. I am not a RA beginner any longer, but I remember the frustration I’ve been through when I was one. So any step towards making things less cluttered should IMHO been taken. I’d just leave the most efficient one and leave it called “runahead” - most documents and tutorials are named as such, plus the name is much more effective imho in describing what the feature is about.

So preemtive frames would just be the new, more efficient code to “run ahead” some frames.

Of course if the current runahead would still make sense in some situations, then it’d be a totally different story.

Thanks for reading!

yeah, we hope to merge them at some point. I think there are some differences at the moment, though i don’t personally know what those are.

1 Like

I think it’s nice how when you turn Preemptive Frames on it automatically disables Run-Ahead and transfers the number of frames to Run-Ahead to the preemptive frames setting.

If one has less potential side effects then it’s probably good to have them both for scenarios where you can’t use Preemptive Frames.

I think they did a good job explaining what Run-Ahead was when it was implemented and launched and the same goes for when the RetroArch team implemented Pre-emptive Frames.

Maybe the issue here is finding a way so that users can easily get the information about the new features if they might have missed the introductory posts.

The tooltips also play a huge role here. So in my opinion the advanced features should be left as is - exposed because they’re intended for an advanced audience.

Do casual users even know how to properly setup Run-Ahead, Pre-emptive Frames or Frame Delay?