Legality for education

I am a college professor preparing a class on video games. Basically it is a study of design from early games to current leading into how to game design. I want to have the students actually play the systems and was wondering if that would be legal through retroarch? Personal use is one thing, but the University is letting me design this course so I don’t want to do anything illegal.

Thanks!

That’s a tough question. Copyright is typically pretty friendly to education as long as you’re doing it “extemporaneously.” That is, if you suddenly said “wow, I just played this game and I think my students should try it,” that would probably be okay but if you’re doing your lesson plan and you plan for them to play it every semester you teach it, some of the leniency goes away (or at least gets harder to defend). This is how fair use works for e.g., photocopying a chapter from a textbook that you don’t want to require just for that one chapter.

Typically, my advice to faculty that want to do other legally gray things, like rip a DVD and post clips in their class in the online learning environment, is to just ask the publisher for permission, but that’s not likely to get you very far in this case because many game publishers (e.g., Nintendo) are 100% unfriendly to emulation.

If having them play a physical copy in class isn’t an option, I think your best bet would be to have a physical, legit copy of the game for checkout at the university library and then encourage your students to play their own copies at home. I assume most of them will just emulate it and the physical copy will still be available for any legal sticklers. You can also link them to specific spots in Lets-Play/Long-Play videos, which insulates you from the entire issue.