Mame and GBA

I have been using http://nonmame.retrogames.com/ to decide which emulator to use in retroarch for different systems.

But, for a lot of systems, like gameboy advance or atari 2600 etc it lists Mame as the best choice.

So, I was wondering, I see that I can set Mame up for retroarch for arcade emulation. Is it possible to set it up for gameboy advance or atari 2600 emulation? I don’t see Mame listed for these systems.

Heh, that list is very generous to MESS. You definitely don’t want to use MAME/MESS for GBA. mgba is much, much better and faster. I’m not an atari expert but I believe Stella is a much better option for 2600, as well. I think it also lists MESS as the best option for GBC, which seems … unlikely vs. gambatte.

If we have a core for a system, you can assume it’s probably going to be better (and definitely easier to set up) than MAME/MESS-via-RetroArch. I would recommend trying it and only exploring the MAME/MESS route if you find it to be lacking in some way. NOTE: I can’t speak to the usability of MAME/MESS standalone for that sort of thing but it’s a pain to set up in RetroArch and usually not worth the trouble, IMO.

Thanks for the quick reply! This helps out a lot. Loving retroarch so far! :slight_smile:

I think MAME works good for certain games in RetroArch, because you get to use crt-royale-kurozumi.cgp, which is honestly why I am forced to use it, lol (for a lot of horizontal games). I didn’t have to set anything up other than the shader. Although, I do have to use 0.170 core since the new one is messed up resolution-wise(?)… I’d love to see an improved core that’s a newer version.

EDIT: MESS on the other hand, I hear it’s only good for Atari 5200 or something? Cause that’s the only option.

5200 = Altirra, pretty accurate and constantly updated

Is there a core for this?