MAME roms not loading from command line

I’m fairly new to retroarch, so maybe I’m missing something obvious. My problem is that when I run: retroarch -L /usr/lib/libretro/libretro-mame.so altbeast.zip

I get the following errors RetroArch: rarch_log_libretro: [libretro INFO] :: Starting game:altbeast.zip RetroArch [ERROR] :: rarch_log_libretro :: [libretro ERROR] :: Error parsing game path: altbeast.zip RetroArch [ERROR] :: rarch_log_libretro :: [libretro ERROR] :: Error parsing system name: altbeast.zip RetroArch [ERROR] :: rarch_log_libretro :: [libretro ERROR] :: Error parsing parent path: altbeast.zip RetroArch: rarch_log_libretro: [libretro DEBUG] :: Path extraction result: File name=altbeast.zip RetroArch: rarch_log_libretro: [libretro DEBUG] :: Path extraction result: Game name=altbeast.zip RetroArch: rarch_log_libretro: [libretro DEBUG] :: Path extraction result: System name=altbeast.zip RetroArch: rarch_log_libretro: [libretro DEBUG] :: Path extraction result: Game path= RetroArch: rarch_log_libretro: [libretro DEBUG] :: Path extraction result: Parent path=altbeast.zip RetroArch: rarch_log_libretro: [libretro DEBUG] :: Searching for driver altbeast.zip RetroArch [WARN] :: rarch_log_libretro :: [libretro WARN] :: Driver altbeast.zip not found -1 RetroArch [ERROR] :: rarch_log_libretro :: [libretro ERROR] :: Driver not found: altbeast.zip RetroArch: rarch_environment_cb: Environ SHUTDOWN.

and it loads up the retroarch menu. I can then go to load content and load the zip file. The game starts up and I can play it just fine. Also, If I unzip the file and run:

retroarch -L /usr/lib/libretro/libretro-mame.so altbeast

then it loads up fine, but I can’t figure out how to get the game to load from the command line when it is zipped. I want to figure it out so it works with emulationstation. Any help is greatly appreciated.

I’m running retroarch on Arch with libretro-mame built from git.

try with the full path to the rom