Mapping a real Nintendo 64 controller

Looked around and can’t find this info, so here goes nothing… I have a couple real N64 controllers plugged in via a Mayflash USB adapter. The controllers work fine and RetroArch recognizes button presses and the analog stick. However, the RetroArch config runs through the buttons as if it was looking at an XBox 360 controller so I don’t get any option for accurate mapping. I’m a bit new to RetroArch so any insight would be helpful.

thanks for the information…

Newer core builds have a core option that can override the mapping on the retropad. Unfortunately, the mupen64plus core also has a bug in its remapping that may prevent you from remapping properly. It’s worth trying, though, and the bug should hopefully get squashed soon.

Ah, thanks for the info. I’m using nightlies and so far I have SNES working satisfactorily but that’s easy to do on a 360 controller. :slight_smile: The main thing I’d like to see in RetroArch would be easier controller configuration— something like when you go to map controllers in a core, maybe pop up an image of the original controller so you can click the buttons on it and map your inputs. Other than that I think I’ve gotten accustomed to the UI (getting used to to arrow keys/z/x instead of arrow keys/enter/esc took me a while) and I definitely love the shaders and extensibility of RetroArch.

bump!

I’m having the same problem mapping my N64 controller (actual N64 controller with a RetroUSB adapter) with the RetroArch “Controls” settings. It definitely wants me to configure for a different controller, like the OP said above.

Maybe there’s just an easy workaround, if someone has found which N64 buttons that RetroArch recognizes as which 360 buttons (or whatever controller it thinks I have).