Newbie help with Retroarch basic setup (LibreELEC / Kodi)

My wife and I have been using a Windows 10 laptop running SNES9x to play our favorite SNES games. We’re both seniors and I’m a retired computer tech. There was no place for our laptop so we placed it on the floor next to the 46" Sony (connected via hdmi). We have to boot the laptop and wait for windows to fully load before launching SNES9x. We currently use a wired SNES USB Controller with a really long cord and the cord doesn’t bother my wife but I want to use the 8BITDO Blutooth wireless controller which I use on another desktop computer.

Anyhoo, my HTPC is an Intel i5 NUC running LIbreELEC (8.0.2)(Kodi 17.3). Kodi has a few game projects in the works but they are WAY over my head with configuration, so I though I’d try a few addons that may work with Kodi. First was ROM Collection Browser which scans your ROMs and attaches meta-data - cool but not needed in my case. I also could not get an emulator to work with it. I tried SNES9x and it wouldn’t launch when a game was selected.

Last night I loaded Retroarch and configured the correct core to use with my collection of SNES (.smc) games. When I exit Retroarch and launch it again, there is no core and I must select it again. I started a game (Super Mario World) and most of the gamepad’s buttons work but I’ll need to reprogram a few. In the meantime I couldn’t for the life of me find a way to exit the game. I tried everything possible and had to reboot the Intel NUC with it’s power button. I normally use a Logitech Harmony 650 to control Kodi and after launching Retroarch, the game pad controls both Retroarch and the games. So how do I exit the games ? I can’t see assigning a game pad button to this function unless I’m missing something.

By the way, the picture quality from my laptop (connected to my 46" Sony TV) was much sharper than what I see running Retroarch. Maybe I chose the wrong core and need to experiment with others.