Newbie - Retroarch.exe has stopped working

Hi,

Im new to this, I have just downloaded the 32bit version for windows. Unzipped it. And clicked on retroarch.exe

Unfortunately the window pops up but is just white and says “Retroarch.exe has stopped working”

Is there a stage im missing or something i’m doing wrong?

I’m a newbie so any assistance would be great please as I cant even get it to open at this stage! :frowning:

thank you!

It shouldn’t matter, but have you tried the 64-bit build? Also, can you try launching from a command window with --menu --verbose? It will print any errors to the console.

Hi, I have tried the 64 bit and it says my pc is not compatible with that version. This is probably a silly question, but how do I try launching it from a command window? Thanks

you’re probably missing the redist files. Just download RetroArch_full.7z

This is what I get when I try to run retroarch…

I have tried downloading the RetroArch_full.7z from http://buildbot.libretro.com/nightly/windows/x86/ and I get the same issue.

Is there any program that i need to install to get RetroArch to work? That I might be missing?

PS - I have DirectX 's installed etc, before that is suggested.

Thank you

yeah, we’re gonna need a log, then. launch from command line with --menu --verbose.

[QUOTE=Danventh;27927]PS - I have DirectX 's installed etc, before that is suggested.

Thank you[/QUOTE] Hey Danventh. Did you get RetroArch to work? I’m having the same issue. I tried numerous of times and the same quote still pops up “RetroArch.exe has stopped working.” I downloaded all the cores, all the RetroArch, updated DirectX…etc. Please help.

Make a text file in the same directory as retroarch.exe with the following line and save it as retroarch.bat, then run that batch file and reproduce the problem.

retroarch.exe -v --menu > output.log 2>&1