Output CRT

I have a CRT that does 240p and 480i over componant. It doesn’t do 480p or anything higher. I got a VGA to component cable and set that monitor to 240p and also tried 480i. I get a weird purple wavyness and you can tell the picture is in there somewhere but obviously completely unable to see with any consistency. Looks like when my xbox was set to HD and I had to change the settings to SD and plug it back in.

Is there any way to do this? I’d love to output this to my CRT if possible.

Thanks for any help.

What operating system are you running? I’m assuming Windows. If so, you’ll need to handle it through your driver. There’s a thing called CRT-Emu-Driver that can set up 240p modelines for you, though I think it may require certain video cards. I have no experience with this process.

In linux you can set custom modelines through xrandr or a custom EDID. I have a decent amount of experience with this process.

What it comes down to is RetroArch will snap to whatever your fullscreen resolution is, so once you get your OS to display on the TV, RetroArch will “just work”.

It sounds like the resolution is changing to something your CRT can’t handle somewhere along the process.

The last thread about this got me wondering too. Mine’s complicated by having a Japanese CRT TV with proprietary Sony RGB input in front and D-Terminal on back (it’s Component with a different connector).

I only have DisplayPort ports free. I wonder if this crazy chain of cables/adapters would take the DisplayPort and give the TV a valid D-Terminal signal:

Cable Matters Gold Plated DisplayPort to HDTV (HDMI) Cable 6 Feet $12 Portta PETHR Premium HDMI to Component YPbPr and R/L Audio Converter v1.3 1080P $28 orPortta PETHVRP HDMI to Component Ypbpr VGA Converter Adapter $27 D-Terminal to Component Adapter Cable (Female) $20