Overlays, modifying default, adding images

I’m new to using retroarch. Went hunting around on the web for ways to get an image of the game console to be displayed instead of just the black screen with buttons that the default configuration has.

The particular portable game device I’m looking to work with first is the Atari Lynx but I doubt it matters which portable I’m working with.

I found a nice collection of images for pretty much every portable console. Each has a corresponding .cfg file. I think my problem is that the person who was nice enough to provide these was working on a computer without a touch screen because the configuration file is just 1 item, the portable device. So if I use the provided configuration file I’m stuck using a Bluetooth controller because there are no buttons.

I figured that all I needed to do was add the image to the default configuration file that gets used when I initially set up the Lynx core.

That was as far as I managed to go before I found this forum. I found a useful thread here that helped someone without root access. I never thought of downloading just the controller and configuration files (and images, etc.). With that whole subtree of files I can now try to do what I originally planned on.

I want to add the Lynx console image to the default configuration, which I believe is the ‘flat’ one. I’m thinking that since there isn’t an interactive graphic tool for creating the configuration file but just editing text that it would be easier to start with the Lynx console image and all the default button definitions. I will then be able to make decisions like make the button smaller, move it left or down, etc.

I figured all I had to do was take the single item definition from the console image configuration file and just add it, at the bottom if it matters, to the default configuration file. I even renamed it just to be sure that I was using the edited file instead of the original.