PBP File Support in the Retroarch Folder Scanner (PSP Compressed PSX Images)

Hi,

I was wondering if it would be possible to add PBP file support for the automatic folder scanner in Retro Arch. Mednafen PSX seems to support it when navigating to the file manually while the core is loaded. But RetroArch automatic scanner only seems to pick ISO or CUE/BIN files ignoring completely the PBP files.

Is there are reason why PBP files are not picked? (Even if PBP files are PSP binary files, there must be some kind of footprint that indicates that it’s a PSX image). Is this some feature that may be implemented in the future?

I’m relatively new to RetroArch so maybe it’s just me doing something wrong.

Any info highly appreciated. Thanks.

IIRC, our scanner hashes the cue sheets rather than the entire files, since it would take a very long time to hash a large number of 700 MB files. Unless PBPs have a magic number somewhere that we can tie into, I don’t think it’s going to fly, since they’re still quite large at 350+ MB.

You can still use scripts and/or playlist creation utilities to create playlists from them.

As a matter of fact, the pbp files I’ve looked at all have the game’s ID code at 0x130. The rdb files have the same codes, so it could be done probably. Kind of a departure from the norm to compare part of the file instead of hashing, but then again, hashing a cue sheet is kind of a funny idea anyway (rename the bin, change the reference in the cue, and the hash is wrong!). Would also have to do a lookup by ID instead of CRC…but maybe. IDK I’m not a developer (maybe someday).

As for the moment, however, I used this tool to get my pbps in order. I recommend renaming the files to the names it retrieves; it makes repeated scanning and debugging much easier. For multi-disc games, just edit the lpl manually and remove the “(Disc 1)” from the name if it bugs you.