Regarding RetroArch MAME & setting up game specific controls

I want to set up Robotron 2084 so that it uses the right analogue stick to control the firing like a proper twin stick shooter. I was able to do that by going into Settings --> Input --> User 1 Binds (also made it so that the Y, X, B, A buttons shoot in those directions), but I don’t know how to save those settings for that game only. If I save it under the Settings --> Input --> User 1 Binds --> Save Autoconfig, then it does that for all other games. If I try to save it under Quick Menu —> Overrides --> Game Overrides or Quick Menu —> Controls —> Core Remap, it doesn’t remember the controller settings (I also can’t seem to change the controller settings under the Quick Menu —> Controls). How do I save that control scheme for that game only? I’d love to be able to also save that control scheme for other twin stick shooters.

Also, I’m kind of new to upgrading the MAME libretro. When does the libretro get updated to the latest version of MAME? Is there a schedule, or is it a “It’s done when it’s ready” kind of situation?

Also, if I have the latest romset, can I just overwrite my old roms & have it work? I read something about updating romsets for MAME (standalone, not the RetroArch libretro), and it said that you have to update each version in sequential order, but I don’t quite understand why.

The MAME libretro core doesn’t support the remapping system, as you’ve found. Instead, you have to use MAME’s own internal remapping system (via the TAB menu). It may be helpful to use RetroArch’s “game focus” mode while you do this if you run into weird conflicting behavior.

The core gets updated whenever someone does it. We used to have a guy who did it like clockwork, but he disappeared a few months ago. Dunno where he went, so hopefully he’s okay…

If you get the new ROMs, you can indeed just overwrite the old ones. The upgrading comment is for people who use the update patches.