RetroArch and I-Pac 2

I have a question. I just purchased an I-Pac 2. I have it all setup and installed. I am doing 2 player with 2 joystickseach player with 6 buttons.

So in MAME all seems fine. I didn’t need to reallychange anything to get working. Now however when working on Sega Genesiswith RetroArch I am lost as to how should bind keys. I know how to getinto setting via F1 but not sure what keys should be doing what.

Do you have a setup or guide?

Thanks!

Ray

There’s no guide, but I had to manually edit my binds in a text editor when I set my jpac up (admittedly, it’s been awhile). Many of MAME’s default keys conflict with RetroArch’s hotkey default mappings, so you’ll have to change those to “nul” in the config.

MAME seems to work as default. It’s basicly other systems. I am new to using RetroArch so not sure how should setup. Retropad or Keyboard? What type of joystick etc. When start blinding it ask for what seems like Xbox 360 buttons to set to my joystick. IE: A B X Y etc

RetroArch uses an abstraction for gamepads known as the ‘retropad’, which is setup basically like a ps3/360 controller. The only real peculiarity is that the face buttons are labeled like an SNES (i.e., B/A/Y/X instead of A/B/X/Y). The idea is that you can set your buttons up once and they work everywhere instead of having to map them separately for each core.

Once you get them setup generally, you can go into the core’s own ‘core input remapping’ and change which buttons are mapped to which retropad virtual buttons. This is helpful for Genesis/MD, since its buttons don’t really map to the 360 layout sensibly.

Since the IPACs show up as keyboards, you’ll bind them with the keyboard mode. You’ll just use ‘joypad’, not ‘joypad w/ analogs’ or whatever, since it doesn’t have analogs.

For reference, this is what my retroarch.cfg looks like with my jpac in my arcade cab: http://pastie.org/10357655