RetroArch CLI

I am completely new to Retroarch , I have managed to get it working in the Gui , however I now wnat to run it from a command line , I started simple

drive:\games\retroarch\retroarch

Starts the program fine

I then tried to load a core

drive:\games\retroarch\retroarch “-L drive:\games\retroarch\cores\mycoretoload.dll”

runs retroarch but no core is loaded

plus

drive:\games\retroarch\retroarch --help

does nothing , retroarch wont even start

You can’t load a core from the command line and then go launch content with it via the GUI. You have to load the core and the content at once.

Thanks for the reply , i tried loading a rom but that didn;t work either , so I started simple , can you clarify the syntax for me for windows

This should help

https://buildbot.libretro.com/docs/guides/cli-intro/

1 Like

Sure. Launching from CLI should look like this (I use retroarch_debug to get proper log output):

retroarch_debug.exe --verbose --log-file log.txt -L cores\whatever_libretro.dll drive:\path\to\game.bin

That command will create a log.txt in case anything goes awry.

Thanks for the help , II got it working managed to combine it with Steam ROM Manager as well , so now I can play my roms via steam link

1 Like

I should probably set that up, too. I already have RA on my Nvidia Shield, but there are some cores that it just can’t run, so it would be nice to run those through my Steam Link.