RetroArch No Input at Startup [Linux Mint 19]

Greetings community!

I’m running Linux Mint 19 Cinnamon and I installed (the 1st time) RetroArch by Terminal. It worked fine for quite some time, although I don’t remember exactly what version was installed, but after a while I used ‘Update Manager’ and I believe it updated my RetroArch too.

Now my RetroArch always boots up in Fullscreen mode and no input works whatsoever. I always have to terminate its process.

I’ve tried uninstalling and installing it through ‘Software Manager’. Running BleachBit between each installation attempt. I’ve tried deleting every ‘retroarch.cfg’ I could find but to no avail. When it boots up it doesn’t freeze, but no input absolutely works! I’ve also tried changing input from udev to linuxraw but that also didn’t work :frowning:

Anyone have any idea how to help me? :frowning:

Thanks in advance!

p.s.: I’m a total noob that just moved away from Windows for the first time!

Try a different input driver?

1 Like

No go :frowning: One thing I noticed is that for example I tried changing ‘retroarch.cfg’ (in /etc) fullscreen options to false and my RetroArch always starts fullscreen no matter what … So maybe the file’s not being read at all?

Correct. That’s not the one to modify. That’s one’s just a reference. Instead, modify the one in ~/.config/retroarch/retroarch.cfg or, if you’re using the snap package, ~/snap/retroarch/current/.config/retroarch/retroarch.cfg

1 Like

I tried searching my File System drive for it but I can’t find any path that starts with either .config/ or /snap.

Instead the only folders showing are in /usr but none have ‘config’ anywhere. And the only one exists solely in /etc

Oh boy … :frowning:

In linux/unix, files/directories that start with ‘.’ are hidden and won’t be visible in the normal file browser. Applications typically store their user files and preferences in ~/.config/[application-name] (that’s /home/[username]/.config/[application-name])

1 Like