RetroArch with Ultimarc I-Pac Ultimate IO

So I am using this board with 2 players each with joysticks and 8 buttons each. I also have bunch of admin buttons for functions. I am looking for some advise/help setting up buttons with this system. I am just not understanding I think how the RetroPad would line up with my setup. I have Ipac using MAME defaults not I know thinks like TRUE = Space should be null to not get in the way.

My layout with buttons number is:

123 7 TRACK 123 7 456 8 Ball 456 8

LCTL LALT SPACE C other side A S Q J LShift Z X V W I K L

Any help/ideas would be great! I am not far into the build so very open to have makes easier etc. I can change defaults for MAME or what every. Also all buttons on panel are RGB so also using LEDBlinky for this. I look how will light up buttons only used in games. Help me kids A LOT!

Can this you use an autoconfig or something? Or per core.

Thanks!

I use a J-PAC in my arcade cab, so I have some experience with this situation.

Since it shows up as a keyboard rather than a gamepad, I don’t think an autoconfig is possible. The way I have mine set up is: 1 = retropad Y 2 = retropad X 3 = retropad L 4 = retropad B 5 = retropad A 6 = retropad R 7 and 8 will be up to you. Probably L1 and R1, respectively.

You’ll need to go through and change any retroarch hotkeys to “nul” if they overlap with the MAME assignments, as you mentioned. I also take advantage of one of the *-PAC’s built-in key combos to launch the menu. P1-Start+P1-Down, IIRC, sends a ‘p’ event, so I nulled out the default ‘pause’ assignment and changed the menu_toggle key from ‘f1’ to ‘p’.

[QUOTE=hunterk;47531]I use a J-PAC in my arcade cab, so I have some experience with this situation.