Single Game Frontend

Hi,

I am a developer who makes NES games, my most recent being Witch n’ Wiz (https://mhughson.itch.io/witch-n-wiz).

I am considering how to bring my game to more platforms (Steam, XBOX, Switch, etc), and one idea that comes to mind is using some form of libretro to “wrap” the game up as a stand-alone executable. I have a few questions in this regard:

1. Is there already a good “single game” libretro frontend? I found a few “bare bones” frontends, mostly for example purposes, but they often miss things that I would consider must have (eg. controller support, remapping input, fullscreen, etc).
  2. Assuming one doesn’t exist, would this make a good Bounty?
  3. Assuming one doesn’t exist, and I wish to build my own, what would you recommend: a) Start with RetroArch, and strip out everything I don’t need, or b) Start with a bare-bones frontend, and add all the features I need?

The end goal would be to have a front end that doesn’t feel like an emulator, and instead like a native menu on top of a “retro-looking” game.

Thanks!

2 Likes

wow, Witch n’ Wiz looks fantastic. Thanks for considering libretro :slight_smile:

The best example of a single-game spin using RetroArch is Dinothawr: https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.dinothawr&hl=en_US&gl=US

RetroArch is quite modular via configure/compile flags (that is, you can enable/disable almost everything). However, it’s always going to look RetroArch-y once you get into the menus. Using RetroArch does get you the most portability, though, since many of the other minimal frontends are written in various languages like modern c++17 or Go or whatever instead of (mostly) ultra-portable C89.