SNES ROM "Paused" when started

Hello everyone, new to the forums and RetroArch, as I stated in the title, one of my SNES Roms isn’t loading. When it’s started, it just says “Paused” in the bottom left corner. I’ve researched this problem and saw people had the same issues with different Roms such as SNES, N64, etc. I tested the game with multiple cores but I’m getting the same result. I have 4 SNES Roms total and the other 3 work fine, so could it be the game cartridge itself is broken?

For what it’s worth, all of my Roms are .sfc files and I copied them from cartridges I own using the Retrode 2.

Thank you to anyone that can help!

Can you state the game and provide a checksum (CRC or MD5 is fine)? I’ll compare it with known-good dumps.

Thank you for the reply, the game is Toy Story :rofl: and I’m not sure how to provide a checksum. Sorry, I’m pretty new at this stuff.

EDIT: I just tried loading the ROM with SNES9X outside of RetroArch and it did say “(bad checksum)”, not quite sure what that means but it could explain it.

Lakka has some docs on checksum verification: http://www.lakka.tv/doc/Verifying-MD5-Checksums/

It sounds like you need a fresh new “No-Intro” ROM set for SNES. Those are the search terms to try :upside_down_face:

I did some more research and came across a program called NSRT and it did say it was a bad rom. It also gave me both CRC and MD5 Checksums.

Internal ROM Info File ToyStory.944C.sfc Name TOY STORY Company Disney Interactive Header None Bank HiROM Interleaved None SRAM 0 Kb Type Normal ROM 32 Mb Country USA Video NTSC ROM Speed 120ns (FastROM) Revision 1.0 Checksum Bad 0x9F7B != 0x6BB3 Game Code AQHE Hashes CRC32 1727E92C MD5 80DAA98674E9BAFA97D1426EFB1DA569 Database Error ROM wasn’t found in the database (possible bad dump).

Since I dumped this Rom myself, should I try and dump it again? I did buy this from GameStop so maybe they sold me a bad cartridge.