Xbox 360 / one controller not detected on my ubuntu 18.04

Hello, I am a total noob but retroarch seems great. I have one problem, though: none of my xbox controller is detected. I read many messages but it seems that they are not related to my problem (it is rather about controller malfunctions). So, to be precise: retroarch simply acts as if no controller were plugged in, no matter what driver I select. Moreover, my controllers works just fine on steam, for example. What should I do?

Are you using the snap package? If so, you probably need to connect these plugs:

sudo snap connect retroarch:raw-usb
sudo snap connect retroarch:joystick

Also, make sure Steam is closed, as it hijacks gamepads and makes them do weird stuff.

Well, I had a configuration problem (my keyboard was not detected as well), so I reinstalled retroarch… And now my controller works… (?)

You can use the xboxdrv package if you want. so you controller does work now?

Yes, my controller works… I don’t know what happened.

Reinstalling did not solve the problem on my side, however I think I’ve narrowed the problem to some service that needs restarting while Retroarch is running (on Ubuntu 20.04).

I have to note that the controller seemed to work just fine except in retroarch. (I could plan Stadia games (through chrome) with not issues. However when I launched retroarch, the controller was not even detected)

I followed some steps from this website (How to Set up an Xbox One controllier in Ubuntu): sudo apt-get install xboxdrv sudo systemctl enable xboxdrv.service sudo systemctl start xboxdrv.service sudo nano /etc/default/xboxdrv #removed the last “/” from the website or else it didn’t work [xboxdrv] #added these lines silent=true next-controller=true next-controller=true next-controller=true #quit and save sudo systemctl restart xboxdrv.service

And it still didn’t work. BUT when running: sudo systemctl restart xboxdrv.service When Retroarch was open, it actually detected the controller.