Xenogears visual bug? Psx beetle HW

Hello Libretro Forums, so i started playing Xenogears for the first time a couple minutes ago and i noticed that some characters have this weird empty line on em, i’m guessing it’s a visual bug? Is there anything i can do to fix it? Here’s a screenshot : https://ibb.co/YDBXHM1

I’m playing the game x8 Internal Resolution and PGXP options. I’ve tried disabling some options but nothing changes.

This game uses tons of sprite assets, so it won’t work wonders when upscaled. Your best bet would be setting the renderer as Software under Quick Menu/Options or switching to the non HW core. Try increasing the resolution one step in software and see if the sprites get corrupted, if so, set it to 1x and use a nice shader instead.

1 Like

Thank you for the reply. Yeah I figured it would be my only solution sadly. I’m using the new HD Portraits Textures and it requires the game to be atleast at x4/x8, oh well. What shader would you recommend?

I think the sprite assets are actually 3D converted to 2D, since when I tried it on Retroarch some years ago, activating widescreen, the characters looked OK, not stretched, I could be wrong, though. Shaders are personal choices, you may prefer those who soften the image, there are those who like the crt look. I can’t help much there, try a lot of them and see the one you like best.

You can start with Retroarch\shaders\shaders_slang\denoisers\crt-fast-bilateral-super-xbr, then try the ones from the “scale” and “x” folders, like scanlefx, scalenx, xbr, xsal, etc.

This image below I recorded for the Hyperspin frontend some years ago, looking at it now, it intrigues me since I could swear I increased the internal resolution and activated widescreen, if you noticed, the characters aren’t stretched like I said above.

Have you tried setting the internal resolution to 2x in the non HW core?

Imma try x2 non Hw right now i’ll let you know.