Can you import DOSBox configurations from GOG.com releases?

I’m new to DOSBox stuff in general, so please forgive my ignorance.

I’ve got the new DOSBox-pure core loading up games great, I was having some fun in DOOM 2 for a bit. So I started to convert my setup to using DOS zips instead of the GOG.com releases I normally run for these titles. The first one in my list was Alone in the Dark. Loading it up in DOSBox-pure, it’s running a bit slow, missing music, and missing voice. SFX are present, however.

I know that DOXBox uses configuration files when it’s packaged with games like those at GOG.com, and that same Alone in the Dark game on that release doesn’t have these issues. So I’m assuming it’s just a matter of setting configurations correctly in DOSBox-pure and saving them somehow.

My initial thought is that maybe I can take my GOG.com release configurations - since they are already correct - and import them into this RetroArch setup somehow.

If not, maybe I can dive through the GOG.com configurations and create RetroArch ones based off that, but I’m not sure where I’d be putting those files. Are they just core option per game files in RA? Or is this a /system directory thing. Maybe it’s a /save directory thing? I’m not sure…

GOG does a lot more than just configs. They get right in there and change the game itself in many instances. Upgrade the graphics, totally bypass protection, even fix errors and bugs that existed in the original.

The .conf files only store what PC components you will be emulating and the dos commands to load the game at the bottom. That’s all.

When you install one of these from GOG, are there actual dos assets in the folder? Or is it all hidden by some GOG container?

Too bad there isn’t a “PC Launcher” core! LOL

All too true, about how GOG does things and how cool it would be to have a PC Launch core.