Cannot redefine some ParaLLEl/Mupen64Plus controls

I’m pretty new to Retroarch and Mupen64Plus. I can’t redefine the controls in StarFox 64 the way I’d like. I was entirely unable to in ParaLLEl; but I got something usable in Mupen64Plus - temporarily.

I have an X-Box 360 controller. When looking for an emu that didn’t get stuck when saving a game in Crash Bandicoot (ahem, ePSXe), I came across Retroarch, and was very impressed. For Firefox 64, however, I found the onscreen tutorial anywhere from difficult to impossible to follow, depending on the key combination. It ran beautifully, but I could never e.g. get the ship to do a loop-the-loop. One is supposed to press yellow arrow down, and move the analog controller down to do it. This is extremely helpful in order to beat the NPC’s that show up as black ships on radar. I had the idea to redefine the 360’s A, B, X & Y buttons as the yellow arrow keys, to help with the tutorials. Everything seemed to go wrong.

In ParaLLEl, I don’t think I was ever able to get as far as having the left trigger for the bomb, and the right trigger for the beam weapons; with the “bumpers” for the shoulders in order to bank. Some buttons simply would not recognize being redefined. I tried Mupen64Plus, and was able to get the triggers and the bumpers defined right, but again, some of the yellow arrow keys simply would not respond to being redefined. I was able to get the functionality of the yellow arrow keys in Mupen64Plus by defining the User 1 C Buttons X & Y to be the right joystick, but even though I told it to save the configuration for this game, it lost it all when I left Retroarch and re-entered it.