Got Gravis Gamepad working in Windows 98 with DOSBox Pure

As the title says, I got my Xbox Series S gamepad working in Windows 98, installed in DOSBox Pure (under Linux <3). I am new to using Windows in DOSBox and wanted to share my solution if anyone else encounters similar problem. Final Fantasy 7 was only playable with the Numpad area and it was awkward. The gamepad buttons was all over the place, missing some and overall unplayable. I guess this was due to some gamepad emulation through keyboard keys, but I wanted to have a “real” gamepad in Windows.

Even though the controller works fine in DOS games without Windows. Maybe there is a driver conflict with something else. The final clue gave me this guy: https://github.com/joncampbell123/dosbox-x/issues/1877#issuecomment-699491863

I had to change the port for the joystick in Windows 98. It’s located in Windows Device Manager > Gameport Joystick > Properties > Resources. Disable “Use automatic settings” and switch Settings based on to Basic configuration 0, so that the below Input/Output Range is now “0201 - 0201”.

Now add a controller in the Windows menu Game Controllers > General > Add… “Gravis Gamepad”. I think this was all I had to do in Windows. Now open the RetroArch menu. Go to Core Settings for DOSBox Pure, go to menu Port 1 Controls and change Device Type to “Gravis Gamepad (4 Buttons)”.

After a reboot and running Final Fantasy 7, finally the gamepad is recognized and works, even the analog stick is recognized as analog in the Joystick test in Windows.

1 Like

Interesting, but not the best option, you can create conflicts in the OS or in the emulator itself.

For these cases there is the option “Custom Keyboard…” in Device Type, you can assign any key to the gamepad (Xbox or whatever) (and save the change per set).
For reference, you can see the keys in the game options, and assign to the gamepad preference button.