Step by step guide on setting up Mame on retroarch?

Hi, I have never used Mame before and was wondering how to set it up since it’s different than just booting up a rom like with other systems. It seems very confusing. I’m using RetroArch with Ice and Steam Link.

It’s mostly the same, you just need to have the correct ROMs for the core. When you load one of them up, it should tell you which version of MAME/FBA it’s using (e.g., mame2003 core is actually MAME v0.078) and then you can find the proper ROMset online (or by downgrading a current ROMset using clrmamepro).

EDIT: scanning for MAME ROMs doesn’t work currently. You’ll have to either load them manually through ‘load content’ or use one of the many playlist creation/management utilities floating around the forum.

I’m gonna use Mame2014 and since I don’t have the space for a full romset I would have to download roms individually meaning I’d have to down-upgrade them since they will all be from different versions. Whats the easiest way to do this?

you have to use clrmamepro to downgrade them. It might be easier just to find the correct set, which would be 0.159, IIRC. However, few good/popular ROMs have changed since then, so many of the current set’s ROMs should still work with that core.

yeah but I only have a few GB to allocate for this so downloading whole sets would be impossible plus I don’t think there exists one for 159. I can’t even find a single ROM with that version so I would have to change them to match it.

Seriously, just download what games you want from whatever recent set you can find. 90% of the time they’ll just work with mame2014 as long as you get the parent ROM and BIOS if it needs it.