Vertical Overlays by Thoggo

Greetings vertical warriors! Though a few of you know me here, I’m still new to this community, and as I’ve been creating vertical overlays for a few months now, I thought I would put some on this forum as well. I just launched a website, verticalarcade.com, to give them a more permanent home and to hopefully develop more of a destination online for vertical arcade overlays. I’ve been working with @ArsInvictus, @PapaShine and a few others active in this community to further develop the site, so stay tuned for more developments in that arena!

Meanwhile, I’m going to post a few of my recent overlays here, which aren’t on the site yet. I will include links to both MAME and Retroarch versions – my MAME overlays typically include a variety of presets for screen size and other options, which isn’t currently possible in Retroarch. I’m still really getting my head and my process around Retroarch, and currently, for maximum flexibility, the overlays have a fairly generous screen port for the game – as such, if you need to adjust the screen size/position, you may find that there isn’t necessarily a super obvious set size/position, so you can set it up however works for you. I may dial that in further in the future and it varies from game to game. Let me know if you run into any issues on the Retroarch side of things.

Please note, the images here will be 1440p because that’s the resolution of my vertical screen, but the overlays themselves are all 4K resolution. And with that…

4 Likes

Smash TV

Retroarch version

MAME version

I’m working on a new overlay pack devoted to the great games of Williams and Midway from the late 80s through the mid-90s, including Smash TV, Total Carnage, NARC, Strike Force, Rampage World Tour and more. This is the first of those, and I’ll continue posting them here as I complete them. Thanks to @ArsInvictus for providing the bezel art.