Way to start Beetle PSX without disc

Is there a way to start Beetle PSX without a disk so I can manage memory card saves? I had to create a new save to quickly grab a retro achievement I missed. Now that I’m done with it I’d like to delete that save while keeping the other saves, but there doesn’t seem to be a way to do that from the in game menu. I tried using load content to load the PS bios, but I couldn’t load the .bin file with Beetle PSX.

Have you tried just Loading the Core?

Start a game and immediately go to “Quick Menu - Disc Control” and eject your disc.
Then resume the game and it will boot into BIOS, where you can modify memory cards.

(You must have the “Skip BIOS” option disabled)

2 Likes

As an aside, you can also set, in core options, to where it saves separate .srm files for each game instead of a single ‘memory card’ file.

I am new to RetroArch and am also having issues getting this to work. Using Beetle PSX HW and RetroArch 1.12.0 (newest version to date). I’m just trying to get into the Playstation memory card manager. Thanks in advance.

1. How do you just “Load the Core” as DaveTheMan suggests?

2. I load my core, then my content which fires up after selection. I get to the menu using F1 right away (before logos show up), Go to Disc control, click eject disc (which creates a new menu item “current disc index”, then hit f1 again to return to the disc load and it just freezes. What am I missing?

3. I have read to disable the “skip Bios” option. But noone describes where that is. Where is it?

1. some cores have a ‘start core’ entry on the main menu if they can load without content. I don’t know if beetle-psx is one of them, but I don’t think so.
  2. after you go back in there and it freezes, go back into the menu and ‘reset’. This a soft reset, akin to pressing the reset button on the console.
  3. it’s in the quick menu > core options submenu, which you can only reach while content is loaded and running.