ArtB Shaders

Hi community,

for more than 20 years now I’m addicted to retro gaming. It all started with the famous C64S bei Miha Peternel in the late 90s (with a special parallel cable to directly connect my old 1541 to the PC). The next one was bleem!, and then I fell in love with UltraHLE. Finally I ended up with RetroArch and was intrigued by the endless possibilities.

But I don’t want to tell a long story. What I want to say: I always participated of other’s work and commitments. The “others” developed emulators, launchers, overlay, shaders and so on. And I was the one to use them, happily and more and more often, without giving anything in exchange (except for some bucks for some patreon projects).

Now I think that this is the right moment to give something back to the community. I started coding shaders last year, without having any professional coding skills. My job doesn’t give me much time to learn how to code. But I started to do it anyway, just to see how far I would come. The initial impulses to do so came from @Syh and @HyperspaceMadness. I think they don’t know anymore in which way they did help me last year, but I wanted to thank both of you :heart:! I really enjoyed diving into shader programming and had hundreds of entertaining and challenging hours. Guys, you made 2020 a great year for me :partying_face:

So this is it: I’m currently setting up a github account with a shader project. Nearly all of my shaders are ReShade .fx shaders, as I had big problems to understand the concept of RetroArch slang shaders. But I hope to be able to port them to RetroArch one day - maybe with the help of this great community?

As I stated before, I only started coding shaders last summer, so please don’t hang your expectations higher than “floor level”. It’s all still very new to me, but I think it’s time to publish something. So now I will start and see what’s gonna happen.